J-Pop sensation to go stateside with highly anticipated third album at the end of the month

unnamed (1)

By Alan Ho

By all accounts in the US, Asian pop forms, especially K-Pop and J-Pop are still considered a niche form and genre with a cult following of fans.  But for current J-Pop sensation and Harajuku icon Kyary Pamyu Pamyu, she might be the one to turn J-Pop from a cult niche on this side of the world into something more mainstream, much like J-Rock has become in the last few years.  Kyary will release her third album, Pika Pika Fantajin in the U.S. on July 29 via Warner Music Group’s Alternative Distribution Alliance.  The album is her followup to last year’s Nanda Collection, which is considered her breakout effort as it is also her first chart topper and one that also garnered some attention here on this side of the Pacific from Pitchfork, the Los Angeles Times and the Wall Street Journal.

The J-Pop sensation is also coming off big wins in her native Japan at the MTV Video Music Awards Japan, where she beat out international superstars Daft Punk and Beyonce for “Best Album of the Year” and then proceeded to clean up at the nominations for the World Music Awards where she garnered noms for “World’s Best Female Artist,” “World’s Best Live Act,” “World’s Best Entertainer of the Year,” and “World’s Best Album.”

Pika Pika means shiny, glossy, and lustrous. Fantajin is a very Kyary-like coined word of “fantasy” + “people.” Just as the title, the album cover describes one of Kyary’s interpretations of the world of fantasy. Concert DVDs will come with the limited editions and feature documentary of her on-going world tour, “NANDA COLLECTION WORLD TOUR 2014,” which will be making a special stop in Honolulu, Hawaii on July 20.

“This album is a kawaii album full of shine and sparkle. It includes many newly recorded tracks, so I think a lot of people can enjoy the album with their minds open. I turned 21 this year so I will be more than happy if you could see me grown up a little?? The booklet comes with the limited editions. Well, please check out my new album filled with my version of fantasy!”

Track listing

01. Pika Pika Fantajin
02. Kira Kira Killer
03. Yumeno Hajima Ring Ring
04. Mottai-Nightland
05. Serious Hitomi
06. Do Do Pi Do
07. Family Party
08. Ring a Bell
09. Tokyo Highway
10. Koi Koi Koi
11. Sungoi Aura
12. Explorer

Pre-order the new album “Pika Pika Fantajin” on Amazon.

Purchase the new single “Kira Kira Killer” in the U.S. iTunes Store.

Video:  Kira Kira Killer

Visit Kyary Pamyu Pamyu online:

Official Website  l  Facebook  l  YouTube  l  Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.