My Morning Jacket unveils previously unreleased song, 20th ann’y album out August 2nd

By Musiqtone News Online

My Morning Jacket today (Friday 7/26) has released “john dyes her hair red,” a previously unreleased track on The Tennessee Fire: Deluxe Edition that is set to drop on August 2nd.  The album was their debut album twenty years ago and features all sixteen original tracks alongside sixteen previously unreleased demos, outtakes, alternate versions and much more.  There will be a signed edition of the record available only at the band’s upcoming tour dates.

Frontman Jim James describes the track: 

“this is one of the first song poems i ever wrote- i always liked the idea of a song being this little picture or puzzle, and not necessarily having to “mean” something or be about some big story or have tons of linear lyrics, but more just painting a weird little scene. i have always tried to make my music gender neutral when it comes to love or romance for the most part, so that a person of any gender could experience a song and not feel excluded if i was using “he’s” or “she’s” or whatever and this is an early experiment with that, of a person named john, which is traditionally a “male” name, who is dying her hair red and sitting in the shower til it all turns back brown- and maybe one would think- “well why did she ever even dye her hair red in the first place?”

Listen to “john dyes her hair red”

As for the aforementioned tour, a limited set and mostly sold out, they will hit the famed Red Rock Amphitheatre in Morrison, CO with two already sold out dates and finish August 10 at the Forest Hills Stadium in Queens.  But on August 9, it will be a special occasion as it marks the official 20 year anniversary of The Tennessee Fire at The Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, NY.  Long sold out, the one-night-only live event will see the band perform The Tennessee Fire in its entirety, along with other classic songs from the era.

The tracklist:



1. Heartbreakin Man

2. They Ran

3. The Bear

4. Nashville to Kentucky

5. Old Sept. Blues

6. If All Else Fails

7. It’s About Twilight Now

8. Evelyn Is Not Real

9. War Begun

10. Picture of You

11. I Will Be There When You Die

12. The Dark

13. By My Car

14. Butch Cassidy

15. I Think I’m Going to Hell

16. Alabama Come Clean


1. John Dyes Her Hair Red

2. Flew in on a Dead Horse

3. Yellow and Strobe

4. Lil Billy (Demo)

5. Evelyn is Not Real (First Version)

6. All This Joy Brings Different Feelings

7. Finger on the Frog

8. Gifts

9. Weeks Go by Like Days (Alternate Version)

10. Plasma Ball

11. Breathin’ Afterbirth

12. Heartbreakin’ Man (First Version)

13. I Think I’m Going to Hell (Two Meter Session)


1. If All Else Fails (First Version)

2. The Bear (First Version)

3. The Bear (Third Version)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.